We are quite a pair…

…my husband and I. I realized this the other day, as I took 14 pages of prescriptions from Walgreens and transferred them to a local grocery chain pharmacy. Because Walgreens is evil. But that’s another story completely.

Two people of our age (34 and 45) should not have 14 pages of prescriptions. Of course, only one of those is mine…the orange fail whale of Synthroid.

Seriously, my husband takes over 20 pills a day. Most of them are for blood pressure and chronic pain. He has had 3 heart attacks, 3 stents placed, 2 open heart surgeries, and back surgery. Since 2006. It’s somewhat overwhelming, to be honest. Definitely not what I had envisioned when we got married.

Standing at Walgreens for the last time last week, wishing I could put my fist through the throat of the uber-cunty girl behind the counter who was speaking to me as if I were a 3 year old, I realized that I don’t want to ever have to take 20 pills a day. That seems so excessive. I mean, yeah, my husband needs these meds to stay live. I want him to stay alive. But I don’t ever want to be at a point in my life where I have to take pills three times a day.

Probably I should lay off the jalapeno Cheetos and Dr Pepper Slurpees, huh?

 

7 responses to “We are quite a pair…

  1. Dr. Pepper Slurpees sound amazing. If I’d known of those during the first trimester of this pregnancy, I would have installed one in my kitchen. (I know caffeine’s bad during pregnancy, but you can’t help what you crave!)

  2. I am sorry I am such a burden with my pills and broken down body….you must really hate me and the burden I place upon you…its not like I want to live this way…I should have taken better care of my body when I was younger….

Leave a Reply

