Frustration

I am so very frustrated right now, and I can’t even tell you guys about it because it’s work related and I don’t want to get into any trouble. Not that I really think any of the people running the company are actively looking for my blog. But I’m costing them a lot of money, and I don’t want to hand them a reason to fire me.

Also, it’s hot enough outside to bake cookies inside the trunk of a car. I know this because someone here in St Louis did it, and took pictures documenting the entire process. Our fine newspaper here (we only have one) ran the series of 56 photos online today, and I actually sat here and looked at all of them. That’s 17 minutes of my life that I won’t be seeing again, but hey! Cookies in the trunk!

In all seriousness, though, the heat is just scary this year. I cannot recall a summer this hot, not in recent memory. It’s more of the length of this heat spell than the temps, although the temps are completely insane. It was 107F at the hottest point today, according to the time & temp thing outside my building. My car said it was 106F. Either way…that’s just ridiculous. Factor in the humidity and we’ve got heat index temperatures of 120F and higher.

So far, 5 people have died because of this heat. They have all been elderly, with the exception of one woman in her mid-50’s. In 2 of the cases, the person had a working air conditioner, but didn’t have it turned on because of the expense. Two had non-working a/c units, and one was an old man who went out fishing for mudbugs (crawfish) and died from heat stroke.

It is because of these deaths that I ask you, not-yet-loyal-but-you-will-be Readers, to please check on any elderly or infirm neighbors. Go knock on their door and make sure they’re all right. Don’t just call and hear them say they are fine…go see them, and actually make sure they’re good. Take them some iced tea or lemonade or water. Remind them that there are resources for them if they need help paying their electric bills. Most utility companies have hot & cold weather rules, and cannot turn off your service if the temperatures are at a certain level. They have grant programs to help. Hell, call the St Vincent de Paul Society at the local Catholic church. You don’t have to be Catholic or belong to the church…they will help you. I know this because they helped me.

And I’m about as far from a church-going Catholic as you can get.

3 responses to “Frustration

  1. You’re probably too young to remember the summer of 1980. So many people died from heat related issues. It was sad.

    Sorry work is rough for you right now.

  2. This heat across the nation is definitely intense. I hope it lets up soon, I know many people in older homes don’t have a/c and I worry for them.

Leave a Reply

