Personal Challenge

So, it’s been well over a week since I’ve posted, and that’s okay. I really haven’t had much to say, plus we’ve been somewhat busy. My dad & his longtime girlfriend finally got married, after 12 years of shackin’ up. That was on Sept 10th. The 11th, well, you know. That’s a rough day.

My oldest biological nephew, Aedan, had his very first ever soccer game this past Saturday morning. Oh my word, it was hilarious. He’s going to be 5 at the end of October, and he plays in the “Soccer Tots” league, which is for 3, 4, and 5 year old kids. Those little kids were cracking me up, folks. They’d all run after the ball in a big herd, and the little girls would just stand there and kick each other in the shins, then cry about getting kicked in the shins.

My nephew, though? That kid has some serious talent. He’s really, REALLY good – at sitting down and pulling up grass & dandelions every time the whistle would blow. Yeah. He’s that kid. I now know why he didn’t want to play t-ball again this summer. He is far more content to sit down and read, or pull up grass & weeds, than to get up and chase a ball with a bunch of other kids.

In other words, he is definitely related to me.

Sitting there with my husband, mom, both of my sisters-in-law, and the rest of our clan (2 more nephews and a niece)…I realized that when it comes to physical activity, I am useless. I mean, I played softball for many years, and I loved it, and I still enjoy playing in beer leagues during the summer. But that’s about it. I’m lazy. I enjoy the comfort of my couch. I like to watch TV and eat compulsively. I’m doing one of those things as I type this, in fact.

And that’s where the “personal challenge” comes in. I am challenging myself to participate in the annual Turkey Trot 5K on Thanksgiving here in my town. That’s a little over 3 miles, and I’ve got well over 8 weeks to train. So, I’m training.

I’ve started the Couch to 5K program, folks. And it’s frightening. I definitely have to go get a new bra. I found one at Ann’s Bra Shop that guarantees “not an ounce of bounce”…and it’s like $80. And the shoes I’ve got will work for a bit, but I’ll definitely need new ones. And that’s my other challenge:

To save the $7 per day that I’m spending on Slurpees and bacon, egg, & cheese biscuits from Mc Donald’s and put it towards the new bra and shoes. And then after the bra is purchased, just save that $7. Lay off the daily Diet Dr Pepper Slurpee after work. Skip the biscuit for breakfast and have cereal or fruit at home.

What do ya’ll think? Good plan? And who wants to give me suggestions for good running music?

4 responses to “Personal Challenge

  1. Oooh, Good luck! Your plan sounds good right now.

    I like to work out to Lady Gaga, Kesha, LMFAO…basically anything on KISS FM. It’s all dance music and it gets me going.

    Have fun and good luck!

  2. I have no suggestions for running music, I just wanted to say that your nephew is a kindred spirit of mine when it comes to athleticism. I played with dirt on the outfield through the one entire t-ball season that I played as a child…

    • Yeah, that’s what he did during t-ball last summer. He didn’t want to play again this year, and my brother didn’t force him. When he decided he wanted to try soccer, they signed him up for the Soccer Tots, instead of the Tri-City league. This is only 4 games, so if he decides it sucks – and I think we can go ahead and say that he thinks it sucks – it’s only a month and $20 instead of 3 months and $150.

  3. Yay, Lala!! I’m very proud of you!
    I have discovered that I work out better to podcasts or audiobooks. I get involved in the story and don’t want to stop. Whereas, songs are only a few minutes long and I’m not quite as motivated to continue through another song.

    All the best to you in your quest for improvement.

    love ya, babe!
    ~B

Leave a Reply

