Musings on a Monday

Ahhh, Monday. Your buzzkill gets all over the fun of the weekend, but I had an iced coffee to take the edge off.

This weekend was fun. We hadn’t intended to do anything, which is normal for us, we’re lazy. I was going to do some laundry, make pizza dough, watch football, and call it a day. And then my brother called…

Thing 2 and his wife, plus their two kids, had been over here on my side of the Might Muddy (Mississippi River) for Oktoberfest in “Old Town” St Charles. Fun little historic district, lots of neat shops, and they have several festivals during the course of the year. They decided to have a little family getaway and spend the weekend in Missouri. Well, they were a little worn out after being at Oktoberfest, but it wasn’t time for them to check in to their hotel yet, so they wanted to come over and visit. Since we don’t see them very often, we put away all of our breakables and said “come on over”!

I ended up leaving with Mrs Thing 2 and going to the tattoo shop so she could get an ugly tattoo fixed. I took her to the shop that I go to, and they did a fantastic job. It was fun to spend time with her, have a little bonding. We got off to kind of a rough start when she & my brother first got together – I was a ginormous bitch, to be honest – and it was nice to hang out with her.

After tattoo time, we had dinner delivered, courtesy of Jimmy John’s. Freaky fast food for freakishly hungry kids.

I had a really good time hanging out with them. Before S & I left to get her inked, I played with JJ & Jaydin, watched some Spongebob, zipped around YouTube and watched Crazy Frog & Gummy Bear videos, and we played the piano. Well, I played the piano. The kids just banged on it.

I really do wish that I could spend more time with my family. We’re just about an hour away from one another, which isn’t that far, but it’s far enough that we just don’t make the trip very often. I’m missing out on little things in their lives, and I’m working on being better about seeing them. Last weekend we went to my other nephew’s first soccer game (we’ll be going to another one next weekend) and I think in a couple of weeks I’ll see if they want to come over for Pumpkinland at Thies Farms.

Reading this back, it’s very rambly and not really very interesting. My apologies. Sort of.

 

Leave a Reply

