Why I love October

I love October for so many reasons. It’s definitely my favorite month of the entire year. The temperatures are generally REALLY amazing, 60’s and 70’s. We get those high, puffy clouds and clear blue skies. The trees begin their annual transformation from deep greens to vivid, blazing reds, oranges, and yellows. It’s chilly in the evenings…just enough so that you need a hoodie. It’s time for the farmers to wrap up their harvests for the year, and with the final harvest comes fantastic sales at the farmers market.

It’s a time for spending the weekends with family and friends. Football games, soccer matches. Bonfires at my dad’s house with my five brothers and their families. Enjoying the spicy goodness of apple cider spiked with bourbon or rum.

October is also full of awesome memories for me. Spending two days making homemade apple butter in Dave & Caryl’s barn out in the country. Sitting up in the hayloft with Bryan, watching our dads slaughter and butcher the hog they went in on together every year. Riding horses, maybe enjoying one last go on the rope swing, if the lake water hadn’t gotten too cold already.

My younger brother’s first son was born in October. Several very important people in my life got married in October. It’s just a fantastic month. It makes me happy to be alive. It makes me thankful, in general, and for specific things. I know that a lot of people find the Spring season to be a season for rebirth, for feeling alive and vibrant. For me, not so much.

Sure, I was born in the Spring. So was Jimmy. We have St Patrick’s Day in the Spring. “Spring Break” is obvious. Mardi Gras. Easter. Prom and graduation.

But for this girl? I’ll take October any time. It’s the best time of year to be alive.

Leave a Reply

