The Wrath of Tea

I like to drink tea. Let’s just get that out there in the open. Iced tea, hot tea, herbal infusions, you name it. A fine woman named Phyllis got me hooked on a certain brand of tea, Harney & Sons. If you enjoy a quality tea, check them out. Their website is http://www.harney.com. You won’t be disappointed.

So last Thursday, I did as I quite often do in the evenings, and I brewed up an entire pot of dandelion tea in the coffee pot. I’d been feeling a little bit puny, and dandelion tea always makes me feel better. I poured a mug for Jimmy, a mug for myself, and was heading to the couch to sit down when my cup exploded.

It wasn’t one of those “boiling water in the microwave” situations. It was a case of a structurally unsound drinking vessel shattering. There wasn’t even a crack of warning. It just broke. My thumb was sliced open with a piece of the glass, but that was the least of my worries.

No, the most terrible part of this situation was the fact that I suffered really serious burns. 2nd, 3rd, and 4th degree burns. On my left breast. Yeah, that’s right. My nipple is currently brown & crusty, as is the aureola, and beginning the peeling process. There is one section that is blistered but not an open wound. There are 4 3rd-degree burns that have scabbed over and are still very sore, but doing better. Then, there is the quarter-sized 4th-degree burn that is still a bit weepy.

Folks, I have got to tell you, there are any number of things I would rather have happen to me than this kind of a burn. This situation…holy mother. I can’t sleep, it’s extremely painful to wear a bra, but I still have to go to work, so I have to wear one. I have to keep it bandaged so it doesn’t get infected, and my delicate boob skin is really taking a beating.

I go to see the doctor tomorrow, and I’m going to have him look at it. This appointment had already been scheduled, I need blood work to check my thyroid levels…I think I need my meds upped. Mostly because my hair is still falling out in clumps and I’m still wicked tired. Either way, since I’ll already be there, I might as well be like “Hey, doc, check out my boobage here and tell me if I need to do anything else”…

I hope all 3 of you reading this blog remember this story the next time you’re pouring hot liquids into glass beverage vessels. You never know when one of them will viciously attack you.

One response to “The Wrath of Tea

  1. Oh my gosh! That sounds horrible. I had heard that you burned your boob, but didn’t know what the whole story was! Yikes! I hope it gets better.

    Years ago Dad was helping get ready for a party. He was holding the glass punch bowl (that had just come out of the dishhwasher) while someone poured the punch into it (the ice cold punch). Know where I’m going with this??? The bowl shattered and cut up Dad’s hands pretty good. So, yeh…I’ve heard what hot beverages can do to a glass container.

    I’m so sorry about your situation. My boobs are hurting just thinking about what you’re going through.

Leave a Reply

