Maudlin Monday

Meh. It’s just one of those days. It’s been rainy & cold for 2 days, it gets dark at like 4pm, and I got shitty news on Saturday.

One of my absolute favorite customers, Y, died last week. He took his own life, and that makes me immensely sad. He was an elderly man from Ukraine, he came here with his wife, L, after the war so they could have a better life. As I understand it, life in the Soviet bloc after WWII was not so great. Anyway, his wife came in on Saturday to notify us that he had passed away. She has such a heavy accent that it’s difficult to understand her when she’s not devastated, so the guy who was assisting her was having a hard time trying to figure out what she was telling him. When he realized what was going on, he immediately came and got me. Not because I speak Russian, but because I have a very good relationship with this couple. He would always wait specifically for me when he would come in, because I was always very patient with him and would fill out his forms for him. He had a lot of trouble with English, and I think it embarrassed him when other workers would get impatient. He called me Laureshka, which apparently means something special.

L told us that Y was having psychotic episodes, apparently losing his mind. I would never have guessed, and usually I can tell when a person is losing it like that. My grandmother was a paranoid schizophrenic, and I have spent a lot of time volunteering with mentally ill individuals.  Anyway, he couldn’t handle the increasing frequency of his episodes. He couldn’t handle making L so upset. He didn’t know how to talk about it, and having the language barrier I’m sure did not help matters. So he did the only thing he thought there was to do, and he hung himself. And I am beyond sad about that.

I really don’t have anything else to report. It’s been business as usual at Casa Lala.

Oh well, now, hold on. There’s my dumbass nephew to talk about, lol. Grrr is 5 years old, and he’s way too smart for his own good. He’s also completely oblivious to his surroundings. Last weekend, his cousin, my nephew JP, turned 3, and of course there was the obligatory family gathering to celebrate the momentous occasion. Thomas the Train was the theme of the day, etc etc. So, my SIL arrives with Grrr and the twins, who are 19 months. Grrr says he’s going to go ahead and go inside with the present while she gets the babies out of their carseats and into the house, and he runs off. But he didn’t ever come in…he was nowhere to be found. After 10 minutes of all the grown- ups outside with flashlights, yelling for him, the neighbor across the street came outside and asked if we were looking for a little kid. WTF? Grrr had gone into the house across the street! Walked right in their front door without knocking, like he owned the place. He said later that he thought it was weird that all the furniture was different, and that he didn’t recognize any of the people. Holy shit, kid. He scared the bejeebus out of everyone.

Kids, man. They’re crazy little fuckers.

Leave a Reply

