Holiday blahs

Yeah, I get the blahs every year at this time. Christmas is so depressing when you have no money, ya know?

I’m trying to focus on the fact that the holiday season is about spending time with family and friends, being thankful for what we do have, and celebrating the coming year. Each year, I hold such high hopes for the next one. And each year, I keep getting kicked in the balls.

I’m also trying hard to focus on the positives in my life. I have an awesome family, with supportive parents, a great stepmom, gorgeous and healthy nieces and nephews. I have an amazing husband, and good in-laws. Yeah, they’re a little bit nuts, but it could be so much worse. I have friends who have in-laws that would make me want to kill myself if I had to put up with them.

My friends, my REAL friends, are fantastic people. They’ve shown me so much love and support this past year. I’d be so lost without them. And then there are my “stranger friends”. The friends I’ve made by joining a certain online community. These men & women literally made Christmas for myself and another community member. I’ve only met a few of them in person, but they’ve all had great impact on my life.

So, I guess really, I shouldn’t feel so sorry for myself. I have a roof over my head. I have a vehicle to get me to and fro. No, it’s not a brand new car, but it’s a sturdy one and I really do enjoy driving it. My husband is great, my marriage is great. We have three cats, indoor plumbing, and central heat/air conditioning.

I just wish I could buy Christmas presents. And a pair of shoes for myself that don’t have a hole in the sole.

3 responses to “Holiday blahs

  1. Funny because I’m trying to focus on the fact that I need to buy gifts since I have no family living at home anymore. This is the first year that the “empty nest” has had an effect on my holiday spirit. However, I remember back when the kids were young how depressed I’d get every year because we had NO MONEY!

  2. It’s a tough spot to be in, especially at Christmas time. They say money can’t buy happiness, but it does sure does make life less bleak.

    I hope your Christmas turned out well, though, in spite of the financial strain.

Leave a Reply

