Accountability

So. I know I’ve said it before, and I’m saying it again, and I expect all 4 of you who follow this blog to hold me ACCOUNTABLE. I have set a goal to lose 110 lbs over the next year. I am turning 35 in just about 6 weeks, and I’m looking at it as the beginning of my new, healthy life. I had an appointment with my GP a few weeks ago, and he basically told me that if I don’t make serious, permanent changes that I won’t make it another 35 years.

He’s lucky he’s such a cute little Peruvian man, and that I am infatuated with the cuisine from his native country. Otherwise I might have sat my 220lb ass upon his tiny, South American body and crushed him.

Here are some things about me that a lot of people do not know. It’s so easy to hide behind the computer and not feel self-conscious, because nobody can see you. Nobody knows what you really look like. So here’s the best description I can give of myself.

I am 34 years old, until March 31. I am 5’2″ tall (maybe) and yes, I weigh roughly 220 lbs. I have hypothyroid, which means my thyroid doesn’t work for shit. I am always tired because of this, and my hair falls out in clumps in the shower. I have dry skin, low blood pressure, and severe Vit. D deficiency. I have sleep apnea, and I do have a CPAP, but I don’t use it like I should because the mask I currently have really hurts my nose. I had surgery on my shoulder last July. I have scoliosis. My right foot is fucked up from an injury many years ago. My vision is terrible and I’ve worn glasses since I was 7.

I know that I could have it much, much worse. The thing is, I don’t WANT it to get worse. I want to get better. I want to be a healthy person, at a healthy weight. I want to have energy. I want to feel better. I want to spend time hanging out with my brothers and their families. I don’t want to miss anything else. I’ve missed a lot because I’ve allowed my weight to hold me back.

I recently joined two different fitness groups on Facebook. I’m learning new ways to cook, and new foods to try. Methods that are healthier, and foods that are better. I’ve been doing a lot of research, and I’ve come to the conclusion that the “whole food” way of eating is probably the best for me. It’s horrifying to read the labels on foods we used to eat and realize that I have no idea what’s in like 90% of the food that used to go in my body. What makes it extra scary is that the label of ingredients on the food I feed to my cats doesn’t have one single thing on it that I didn’t recognize. My cats eat more healthfully than I do.

So. To wrap this up. I need ya’ll to help me be accountable. Tweet at me and encourage. Tweet at me and yell. Just talk me through it, because it’s going to be a long road, and it’s going to be hard. But I want to be at 115 by the time I’m 36.

I have one year.

3 responses to “Accountability

  1. You can do it!! It might help to try what I tried (and must try for 60 more pounds)
    I lose weight FIVE POUNDS at a time.. I look no further than that or it overwhelms me completely.
    I am 5’6″ and currently weigh 212 and would like to weigh 150
    hmmm.. I am now thinking of starting a diet/weight loss page on my blog..
    Good Luck ..
    Black Sheep

  2. I’m with you starting on March 7th when my restrictions are (hopefully) lifted. I have 50 pounds to lose. I’m be adding a page to my blog on the 7th so that normal readers don’t have to be subjected to the mayhem that is weight related. 🙂

    Good luck, Laura!!!!

  3. GO LALA!!!!!!! 🙂

    My advice, start small. Don’t expect to change EVERYTHING all at once, because the, when one thing doesn’t work out you’ll be all I’M A FAILURE when, really, you’re not 🙂

    I also like mini goals, aka – lose xx by this date.

    If you’re not signed up for weight watchers, you can try something like MyFitnessPal – it won’t give you meal plans (I highly recommend meal planning and automating 2 of your 3 meals) but you can track your food, etc, so you know what you’re consuming. I’m only successful at losing weight when I track everything I put in my mouth. Yes, it’s annoying.

    One other fun tidbit – running or walking, you burn the same number of calories PER DISTANCE.

Leave a Reply

